Where will preceeds hunger…

December 2, 2009 § Leave a comment

1 year 1 month and 24 days… That’s how long it’s been since I wrote on my blog.  And if I am not writing this post now, I would personally equate myself to scum.

I’m gonna cut the pleasantries and head straight to why I came back to write… Irom Sharmila.  “Oh that Assamese lady who’s been on a fast for a while now for the AFSPA Act?’ and “Man, her protest is truly humbling” and “Wow, I wonder how she still hasn’t gotten as much media as anybody else would have” – a bunch of lines that I’ve been hearing about this … umm… lady.

I don’t think I can really fixate on a certain adjective for her.  Is she stupid? Brave? Crazy? Persevering?  Revolutionary – yes. Steadfast? Simple? Hmmm, I’m quite lost for words, surprisingly.

A lot has been written, spoken and deliberated about this lady and her protest and Government reactions have been tracked as well.  She has been periodically arrested and released stating that her protest is an attempt at suicide!  Many say she hasn’t received the media attention that she should/could have for political reasons.

What hurts me the most is that I sit here and write this post, almost unable to do anything about this? Or am I able and not doing anything about it?  That is a question we all need to ask ourselves.

Let us assume that newspapers, TV channels, doctors, social workers, journalists have all done their bit in bringing her protest to light.  But as citizens who are more privileged than Irom, what have we done for her cause? This question is haunting me and I am unable to go through my regular busy work day.

I am still thinking…  I need to do something, however small or big. And I need hands of support.  More on this will follow…

http://manipurfreedom.org/

As I sign off this post, I am headed out for lunch.  Because there is only one Irom Sharmila.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Where will preceeds hunger… at Everything that keeps me awake and yet dreaming. and planning. and implementing..

meta

